hi! this is a log of, more or less, everything i've consumed since january 2020, mostly for my own sake. its fun to look back at this kinda stuff, yknow? don't expect big entries for most of 'em.



febrbarby 2020..........

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑 birds of prey and the something something harley quinn

watched on 2/8/20


yea it was pretty good. i mean, not... the best? this movie was exactly as cliche and middle-of-the-road as it could possibly be, and felt a little too 2006, but it was still enjoyable, and the end was pretty hype!



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ rwby volume 7

watched 11/9/19 - 2/8/20


somehow absolutely incredible, maybe my favorite volume so far, bar maybe volume 3. i cant get over how far this show has come since volumes 1, 2, and... 4 and 5, lol.




january 2020.....

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑 the ringing bell

watched on 1/31/20


oh no!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


this movie was really fucking sad!!!


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ wall-e

rewatched on 1/26/20


my favorite movie of all time, rewatched for the billionth time on a flight to san diego. i will never get over how perfect every single moment of it is, from the numerous hello dolly callbacks later in the film, to the constant visual gags, to all the cute noises and motions wall-e makes... plus, the explicit anti-capitalist, anti-authoritarian message that permeates all of it. perfection. absolute perfection.


⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑 lady and the tramp (original)

rewatched on 1/26/20


look, its a cute movie, and i loved it as a kid, but i rewatched it on the flight and i really can't get over how badly structured it is, as well as how deeply, horribly backwards many parts are. watching it right next to wall-e was probably not fair though. never seen the remake and i never fucking will

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑 vvvvvv

played on 1/??/20


one of those games that sets out to do something and does it to utter perfection. point taken off for just being too short, man, but id put this up there with portal, bastion, thomas was alone, ect.

⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑 homestuck^2

read on 1/??/20


yknow, im actually one of those people who enjoyed the epilogues. i think the general message was pretty good - pip d's analysis, more or less, aligns with how i read it. friends left unchecked can slip into the worst versions of themselves and its important to foster a healthy community. people who go through horrible things but win in the end won't pop out the other side as good, moral, flawless people. but i just... don't see why homestuck is continuing in this specific fashion, with homestuck^2. the vast error type of artstyle is nice, but the unbelievably slow updates plus the somewhat... off-feeling characterization and dialogue just sort of bothers me. and (because it updates so slow and we haven't seen much yet) it looks like its almost going to be like a 'fix-it fic' of the epilogues? which... kinda undermines the whole message in the first place? i don't even know anymore


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑 pesterquest

read/played? on 1/??/20


hit or miss! real hit or miss! but the hits are pretty entertaining, alright? the misses...



lets not talk about the misses


alright maybe one or two things. i'm not really a fan of the writing style. it feels meta in kind of a lazy way and the tumblr linguistics are already pretty stale. i like the direction they took a lot of the characters (and the focus they deserve after all these years!) but i just do not care about the friendsim stuff, which ruined feferi's route for me (which i otherwise REALLY enjoyed), and i don't see why they are needlessly 'woke'ifying characters made explicitly to be shitty, like eridan and (to a much lesser extent) equius.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ arrival (2016)

watched on 1/??/20


yeeaaeaAeee i dont know what da fuck goin on but its cool !!!


for real though, the concept of genuinely nonlinear time is super duper interesting. the alien language rocked too. i wanna see MoRe


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑 kipo and the age of wonderbeasts

watched on 1/??/20


man, dreamworks has been killin it, huh? after voltron, i thought she-ra was going to be a garbo fire, but then that turned out great. and now kipo comes out, and the artstyles weird, and i thought it'd be... bad, but man, was i wrong! kipo's a fantastic show! the pacing might be a bit off at times, but the animation is stellar, the soundtrack is just as good, the characters are super duper strong and interesting, the dna horseshit makes NO sense, i love every moment of it.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ steven universe future

watched on 1/??/20


little homeschool - a great reintroduction to the steven universe... universe. i love where they've gone with jasper - i was super worried about how they'd handle this, since i think the final season of steven universe handled corruption a little... fast, and jasper got more or less completely sidelined. i also love the incredible fakeout of the gem steven heals at the start being utterly inconsequential to the plot, as opposed to what everyone thought after seeing the trailers


guidance - smoky quartz is always welcome! its nice to have an amethyst episode, too. probably the most simple plot of the whole season, but hey, they wanted to start off familiar.


rose buds - if not for A Very Special Episode, this would be my favorite purely for the comedy. something about the humor is a little different in SUF, and i really like it! the rose quartz sisters were cute, although i would have liked to know more about their experience with the war.


volleyball - knockout punch of an episode. absolutely incredible animation and color use at the end, and as far as the overarching 'pink steven' plot, i really enjoy how it was handled here with all of the parallels. pink being the one to have hurt volleyball... really changes things, and changes her. even as stevens view of his mom changes, though, i appreciate the show's gentle reminder at the end - that for our pearl, she'd changed. we saw rose's arc and redemption in reverse, and even though she hurt a loooooot of people, i think she should be given the same benefit of the doubt as peridot, the other diamonds, jasper, et cetera. she became a kind person in the same way that steven seems to be doing the opposite, even if she never made up for the mistakes she made.


bluebird - another very silly episode. i hope bluebird doesnt show up again because i hate how she looks and sounds so much


a very special episode - this does not feel like an episode of steven universe. it starts off alright and then devolves into absolutely the most batshit episode of the show by far, and i love it to bits. the psa fakeout ending is the best shit ever, even if it calls into question whether or not the episode was even canon? watching it with the assumption that garnet is just a very bad actress makes it even funnier.


snow day - adorable episode. 16 year old me would have loved the whole 'please see me as an adult' thing.


why so blue - good episode? bit forgettable. liked the song though


little graduation - ooooohhhhhghgghhh i want to like it but steven being so thoroughly oblivious when he's usually pretty empathetic is just. hard to watch. the ending was pretty sweet, and its cool to see a nonbinary human character who isnt a fusion or anything magic, but man, this was hard in a way that prickly pair just did better. also lars/sadie breaking up is for sure for the best


prickly pair - wow. what an episode. steven having pretty rotten (albeit mostly reasonable given the shitty childhood he had) thoughts and being unable to grapple with them to the point where it hurts the people around him hits home, because inside of all of us is a little bastard cactus too. is it a metaphor for the diamonds filling pink with evil until she was evil too? i dunno. that ending too was really sad and my emo soul cactus felt it



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ the good place season 4

watched on 1/??/20


yeah i'm not smart enough to really say anything profound here. i only made it through philosophy 101 in college and didn't take any further classes. amazing show. amazing characters. ended when it should have instead of being cut off early or dragging itself out too long.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ infinity train season 2

watched on 1/??/20


spoilers!


seriously, spoilers for the last few episodes!


i'm gonna put it in dark text so you have to highlight it!


yo they fuckin straight up killed a man! that was wild! and really graphic for a kids show???


ok, no more spoilers. overall? absolutely brilliant. i had no idea how they could follow up the first season without some sort of ass-pull to get tulip back in - and then, of course, they revealed it was about MT. i love how they naturally just explored all of the questions i had after the first season, poking and prodding at the world they created and the moral complications of it.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑 ollie & scoops

watched on 1/??/20


these videos have been in my recommended for a while, and i finally bit the bullet and watched one - wow! it's actually really pretty good for youtube animation, although the audio quality could use some work. i like the humor.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑 little king john in THE FLOOD

watched on 1/??/20


really, REALLY good? i mean, there are still parts that are... uncomfortable to look at or listen to, but for the most part, holy shit, the emotions of the flood feel super genuine. lkj is such a complex character, but seeing him struggle so hard - and feel so rightfully wronged - just makes you love him. despite his quirks and his lack of empathy at times, in the end he does whats best, and makes a bunch of friends, too. i... don't think i can sit through this or dreams minecraft for a rewatch, at least not for a while. it was nice but the... unique... animations and slower pace would make it impossible for me to pay attention again


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑🌑🌑 ratboy genius dreams minecraft

watched on 1/??/20


weird but sort of wonderful in its own way. the visuals are... modest, and the audio somewhat confusing, but goddamn, it all comes together into something sort of enjoyable. not nearly as good as the flood in my opinion, but still a lovely little thing. it has a lot of heart for something that looks like those 3d horror animations full of memes.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ rogue legacy

played on 1/??/20


this game SPLITS ASS. im putting it here because i never got past the first castle section until this year, and hopefully i'll beat it. it ranks amongst spelunky and the binding of isaac as 'motherfucking amazing roguelike games' even though its more of a roguelite - the mechanical polish is unbelievable and it makes every moment of gameplay a dream. ill probably write more here if i ever beat it...


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑🌑 lost in space season 2

watched on 1/??/20


uhhh uhhhh uhhuhhuhhuuh huhuh uhuhu h hu hu i enjoyed but it didn’t really leave me with anything to ruminate on


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🌑🌑 a boy named charlie brown

watched on 1/??/20



a boy named charlie brown is really weirdly introspective and wonderful and artistic. there are entire scenes that are just there to be pretty to watch or listen to, but have fuckall to do with the plot and make no sense at all. shoutout to the piano scene. its somehow both a lovely and clunky movie at the same time


by the way, this is my first review! technically, i read this in late december of 2019, but this review list was a little sad, so i added everything from here to LKJ as december holdovers, just so there'd be something.


this review format is heavily inspired by the reading section on macwright.org, at least in the format of it, although i got the idea to write down everything i read/watched/listened to for a year from fuckin, i dunno, someone on twitter??